Adopted or not
Every Model Local Rule on this page applies only when the Committee in charge of the course or competition has adopted it. Check the Local Rules on the notice board, scorecard or Terms of the Competition before relying on any of them.
What a Model Local Rule is
Rule 1.3a of the 2023 Rules of Golf, in effect from 1 January 2023, says "the Rules" include any Local Rules the Committee adopts for a course or competition. The R&A and the USGA publish a menu of Model Local Rules, each with a code such as E-5 or G-10, that Committees can choose from.
The R&A is clear that Model Local Rules are not changes to the Rules themselves. In its January 2026 article on the latest updates, it says new and amended Model Local Rules became available to Committees from 1 January 2026, and that they apply only where a Committee adopts them. The R&A also says new Model Local Rules are released through the quarterly updates to the Additional Clarifications, between full editions of the Rules. The next edition is due on 1 January 2028, the same article says.
Several of the options are meant only for elite events. Where the source says so, the table notes it.
Options golfers meet most often
Each row is a Model Local Rule. None of them applies unless the Committee adopts it.
| Code | What it lets a Committee do | Intended for | Source copy |
|---|---|---|---|
| A-4 | Apply internal out of bounds only to strokes from the teeing area, or to all strokes on the hole (amended 2026) | Not stated | R&A, January 2026 |
| B-2 | Allow relief on the opposite side of a red penalty area | Not stated | Rules of Golf 2023, Rule 17 text |
| E-5 | Offer an alternative to stroke and distance for a lost or out-of-bounds ball, for two penalty strokes | General play; not elite events | Club-hosted copy, no edition date |
| E-14 | Give only the one-stroke Rule 9.4b penalty to a player completely unaware of having moved the ball who did not replace it (new 2026) | Live televised events | R&A, January 2026 |
| F-2 | Give free relief when a referee finds the ball embedded in another player's unrepaired pitch-mark (new 2026 option) | Live televised events with referees | R&A, January 2026 |
| F-5 | Extend line-of-play relief to specific kinds of ground under repair, such as holes left by removing a microphone (amended 2026) | Not stated | R&A, January 2026 |
| G-1 | Require drivers to have a head on the List of Conforming Driver Heads | Elite or professional events | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide |
| G-2 | Require clubs to meet the groove and punch-mark specifications that took effect on 1 January 2010 | Highly skilled players | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide; R&A, January 2024 |
| G-3 | Require every ball used to be on the current List of Conforming Golf Balls | Recommended by the R&A for professional and top amateur events; other events at the Committee's discretion | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide; R&A ball submissions page |
| G-4 | Require one brand and model of ball for the whole round (the one ball rule) | Highly skilled players | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide |
| G-5 | Prohibit distance-measuring devices during a round | Not stated | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide |
| G-6 | Prohibit riding on motorised transport during a round unless authorised (amended 2026) | Not stated | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide; R&A, January 2026 |
| G-8 | Prohibit listening to or watching content on personal audio or video devices | Not stated | Danish Golf Union, 2023 Official Guide |
| G-9 | Limit replacement of clubs damaged during the round (amended 2026) | Not meant for club-level play | R&A, January 2026 |
| G-10 | Limit clubs other than putters to 46 inches | Professional and elite amateur competitions | R&A, October 2021; JGA-hosted text |
The G-1 to G-8 details come from the Danish Golf Union's copy of the 2023 Official Guide, because the current official text of those rules was not read directly for this page.
A closer look at the ones that matter most
E-5: alternative to stroke and distance
Where the Committee has adopted E-5, a player whose ball is lost or out of bounds, and who has not played a provisional, may drop in a large area between where the ball is estimated to be and the edge of the fairway, not nearer the hole, for two penalty strokes. The Virginia State Golf Association calls it optional. The copy we read has no edition date. The full detail is on the lost ball and out of bounds page.
G-5: distance-measuring devices
Since 1 January 2019, distance-measuring devices have been allowed under the Rules unless a Local Rule bans them, the reverse of the earlier position. Rule 4.3 lets a Committee restrict them by Local Rule, and G-5 is the model for doing so. Where the Committee adopts G-5, breaches are penalised under Rule 4.3. See distance-measuring devices for what a device may show.
G-6 and G-9: the 2026 amendments
Where the Committee adopts G-6, the amended 2026 version lets it later approve a ride that a player accepted by mistake but reasonably, for example believing the driver was authorised. GOLF.com links the change to cart-ride incidents, including one at the 2025 U.S. Mid-Amateur where a player lost a playoff hole after his caddie rode in a cart. Where the Committee adopts G-9, replacement is limited to broken or significantly damaged clubs, the replacement must fill the gap in the set, and players may repair a damaged club with parts from their own bag or parts another person on the course is carrying on their behalf.
G-10: club length
The R&A and USGA announced G-10 on 12 October 2021, available from 1 January 2022. It lets organisers of professional or elite amateur competitions limit clubs other than putters to 46 inches, with a measurement tolerance of 0.20 inches. The governing bodies said it is an optional tool for competition committees, not a Rule of Golf, so recreational golfers do not have to follow it. Where the Committee has adopted it, making a stroke with a longer club means disqualification, while carrying one is not penalised. See shafts for the length rules that apply to everyone.
Policies adopted as Local Rules
- Pace of play: Rule 5.6b says the Committee should adopt a Pace of Play Policy as a Local Rule, which may set maximum times for a round, a hole, a series of holes or a stroke, with penalties. See pace of play.
- Code of Conduct: since 2019, Committees may adopt a Code of Conduct with lesser penalties, where before they could only disqualify for a serious breach of etiquette, according to the USGA's summary of the 2019 changes.
Sources
- The R&A, New and updated Model Local Rules for 2026 (14 January 2026)
- The R&A, Rules of Golf (2023 edition), Rule 1
- The R&A, Rules of Golf (2023 edition), Rule 4
- The R&A, Rules of Golf (2023 edition), Rule 5
- The R&A, Rules of Golf (2023 edition), Rule 17
- Danish Golf Union, Official Guide to the Rules of Golf 2023, Model Local Rules section G
- Model Local Rule E-5, alternative to stroke and distance (club-hosted copy of the Committee Procedures text, PDF; edition not printed)
- The R&A, New MLR option for club length (12 October 2021)
- Model Local Rule G-10 text (Japan Golf Association copy, PDF)
- The R&A, Update on 2010 equipment changes related to grooves (25 January 2024)
- The R&A, Golf ball submissions
- USGA, Understanding the Rules of DMDs (2023 update, PDF)
- USGA, Summary of main changes, 2019 Rules of Golf (PDF)
- GOLF.com, After 2025's biggest rules, USGA and R&A update
- Virginia State Golf Association, Rules